Marisa Wikramanayake will be appearing at two sessions at the Digital Writers Festival this year.
News,  Writing

I’m in the Digital Writers Festival this year! Which means you need to watch me talk to amazing writers online

Back in June or July, I sent Jane Howard, who was organising the Digital Writers Festival, a message on Twitter:

In September/October I received a series of emails the upshot of which meant I was in TWO (count them, TWO) sessions for the Digital Writers Festival.

TWO SESSIONS!

The Digital Writers Festival runs from November 1 to November 11 which basically means it starts next Tuesday. And it is all ONLINE.

YES. Thanks to the magic of Google Hangouts and some other spiffy internet technology, you, lucky viewers wherever you may be in the world, get to watch awesome writers chat about all things writing, without needing to travel to a festival location, brave crowds, buy tickets and find accommodation etc. It also means you get to see more and different writers who would otherwise not be able to attend and speak.

And panels and discussions are not all that there is on offer. There will be virtual tours, you will get to interact and ask questions and it will generally just be a ton of awesomeness.

[aesop_video width=”content” align=”center” src=”youtube” id=”CMPSiK2GKKM” disable_for_mobile=”on” loop=”on” autoplay=”on” controls=”on” viewstart=”on” viewend=”on” revealfx=”off”]

And my sessions are FREE! So you really have no excuse. I mean you get to watch me online, watch me stumble over my words and generally have a laugh at my expense.

The first session is The Internet We Miss with Honor Eastly, Elizabeth Flux, Giselle Au-Nhien Nguyen on  next Wednesday, November 2nd at the following times:

Perth – 4:30 PM | Sydney – 7:30 PM | Sri Lanka – 2:00 PM | London – 8:30 AM | New York – 4:30 AM | Los Angeles – 1:30 AM

[aesop_quote type=”block” background=”#282828″ text=”#ffffff” align=”center” size=”1″ quote=”The internet moves so fast: it can be hard to remember a time when YouTube Videos were limited to ten minutes and you had to wait for them to buffer at 240p. As we (perhaps) approach a country with a National Broadband Network, and as the internet takes over more and more of our lives, DWF artists look back over the parts of the internet which informed our early days here, and mourn what is lost.” parallax=”off” direction=”left” revealfx=”off”]

 

The next session is with the awesome Angela Serrano (who is amazingly funny and is working on a memoir) and is part of an event series titled Moving Away and we are in Part 2: Coming to Australia where we talk about our experiences as first generation migrant writers in Australia.

It will run on Sunday, November 6 at the following times:

Perth – 9:30 AM | Sydney – 12:30 PM | Sri Lanka – 7:00 AM | London – 1:30 AM | New York – 9:30 PM (Saturday, 5 Nov) | Los Angeles – 6:30 PM (Saturday, 5 Nov)

[aesop_quote type=”block” background=”#282828″ text=”#ffffff” align=”center” size=”1″ quote=” In 2016, the world is transient: people jumping cities, countries, and continents for careers, family, love, or adventure. In this two part series, writers take a look at moving. Why do you leave, and what makes you stay? What does it mean to be a first generation immigrant? How do you navigate around a new life, and perhaps a new you? And how does the internet allow you to keep writing home?” parallax=”off” direction=”left” revealfx=”off”]

There will be other amazing writers and editors including Marlee Jane Ward, Anna Spargo-Ryan, Alice Grundy, Yassmin Abdel-Magied, Steven Finch, Alice Pung, Omar Sakr, Elizabeth Tan and Khalid Warsame and more.

To keep up to date on when sessions are or when they are starting and where to go, follow the hashtag #dwf16 on Twitter, or @digitalwriters or @mwikramanayake.

 

Marisa is a globetrotting freelance writer, journalist and editor with cat for hire (her, not the cat). She is usually based in Melbourne but is currently flouncing around in Perth for a week for the Inaugural 2018 KSP - Varuna Foundation Fellowship. She will be at Melbourne's Continuum and online running a Writers' Bloc course in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: